“NO STRESS IN GETTING THE NEW WINDOWS 8.1 AS IT’LL BE COMING TO YOU”-SAYS MICHEAL NIEHAUS

Windows 8.1 with your usual desktop background

Microsoft Senior Product Marketing Manager Michael Niehaus reiterated that message in the RT in the Enterprise session on Tuesday. When the 8.1 preview is available, Windows 8 and Windows RT users will receive a Windows Update notification. That update will trigger the new bits to show up in the Windows Store, where potential testers will be able to read the description and choose whether or not to install.

Once the final versions of Windows 8.1 are available, after their release to manufacturing, those who have downloaded the preview will get the same Windows Update plus Windows Store notification. While their data and accounts will be preserved if and when they choose to install the free, final 8.1 release, all their apps must be reinstalled, Niehaus said.

Even if testers opt instead to roll their devices back to Windows 8 after installing the preview bits, they still will have to reinstall their apps once they move to the RTM version of Windows 8.1.

Windows 8 users who do not install the preview build and opt instead to go straight from Windows 8/Windows RT to Windows 8.1 will not have to reinstall their apps. All settings, data and apps will carry over, a spokesperson said when I asked. Users will be able to decide when and if they want to move from Windows 8 and Windows RT to the 8.1 versions, officials stressed.

Niehaus characterized the Windows 8 to 8.1 upgrade as “a little better” than how Microsoft handled the Windows 8 test build to RTM upgrade. A Microsoft spokesperson said the Windows 8 to 8.1 upgrade would be “comparable” to the Windows 7 to Windows 8 upgrade, in terms of how the upgrade dealt with user settings, data and apps.

Niehaus also told session attendees that Microsoft expects to have a reduced footprint size for Windows 8.1 as compared to Windows 8. He said the team has been working on removing old components, temporary files and improving NTFS compression to free up more space on users’ machines. He noted that 4 GB of free space will be needed to install the Windows 8.1 preview builds. And he said that installation of Windows 8.1 will not result in the replacement of the recovery partition in Windows 8.

“If you deleted it, [8.1] won’t replace it,” Niehaus said.

16 thoughts on ““NO STRESS IN GETTING THE NEW WINDOWS 8.1 AS IT’LL BE COMING TO YOU”-SAYS MICHEAL NIEHAUS

  1. A formidable share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing somewhat evaluation on this. And he in reality bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If doable, as you change into experience, would you mind updating your blog with more particulars? It is highly useful for me. Huge thumb up for this blog submit!

  2. I just want to say I am all new to blogging and site-building and truly liked your blog site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly come with excellent writings. Cheers for sharing your blog site.

  3. Wow! This can be one particular of the most useful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Fantastic. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your hard work.

  4. Yet another thing I would like to say is that instead of trying to fit all your online degree lessons on times that you conclude work (since most people are worn out when they come home), try to find most of your lessons on the saturdays and sundays and only a couple courses in weekdays, even if it means taking some time off your saturdays. This pays off because on the week-ends, you will be much more rested in addition to concentrated for school work. Thanks for the different recommendations I have figured out from your web site.

  5. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thanks!

  6. This design is spectacular! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  7. Its approximating you interpret my mind! You appear to identify a lot in relation to this, in the vein of you wrote the book in it before impressive. I imagine that you could achieve with a few pics to drive the message dwelling a bit, nevertheless additional than that, this is outstanding blog. An outstanding read. I will positively be real back.

  8. I have observed that costs for internet degree authorities tend to be a terrific value. Like a full Bachelors Degree in Communication with the University of Phoenix Online consists of 60 credits from $515/credit or $30,900. Also American Intercontinental University Online offers a Bachelors of Business Administration with a full school element of 180 units and a price of $30,560. Online degree learning has made taking your certification much simpler because you can earn your degree through the comfort of your abode and when you finish from office. Thanks for all the tips I have learned through the web-site.

  9. If you are going for finest contents like myself, just go to see
    this website daily since it provides quality contents, thanks

  10. what are you guys talking about…I laways manipulate lard and nothing ever turns out bad…real butter has no flavor…margarine is warm, geez…I boil every one of the time…

  11. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  12. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don’t forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

  13. I’m writing to let you know what a amazing encounter my daughter went through reading through the blog. She came to understand too many issues, most notably what it is like to possess a very effective teaching nature to let folks effortlessly know precisely a number of tricky subject areas. You undoubtedly surpassed her expected results. Many thanks for supplying the priceless, trusted, informative and in addition cool thoughts on the topic to Jane.

  14. Hello to every , since I am genuinely eager of reading
    this web site’s post to be updated regularly. It contains nice
    information.

Leave a Comment

